How many cups of water do you need for three cups of rice?

How many cups of water do you need for three cups of rice? Measure 1 1/2 cups of water and 1 teaspoon olive oil for every cup of uncooked rice. (1 cup dry rice yields about 3 cups cooked.) Combine the rice, oil, and water in a medium saucepan, and stir to combine. Bring to a boil over high heat