What year was the first heart transplant?

The first heart transplant took place on December 3rd 1967 and was performed by Dr Christiaan Barnard and took place in Cape Town, South Africa

---

On 3 December 1967, South African doctor, Dr Christiaan (Chris) Barnard, performed the world's first human to human heart transplant at Groote Schuur Hospital, Cape Town