How many creatures are in the ocean?

There are 228,450 known species in the ocean — and as many as 2 million more that remain a total mystery. We have only discovered 5 percent of our oceans so there is much more to find.

---

There are currently 228,450 known species in the ocean, with an estimate of over 2 million more that we have not yet discovered.