What is seven fishes dinner?

Christmas Eve, many Italian families will celebrate one of the most iconic Italian-American traditions, The Feast of the Seven Fishes. Also known as, Festa dei Sette Pesci or La Vigilia, this huge Italian dinner features seven courses of fish and seafood dishes, plus a classic Italian dessert.