What's the world record for breath holding underwater?

24 minutes - on 28 February 2016, Spain's Aleix Segura Vendrell achieved the world record for breath-holding underwater with a time of 24 minutes.

---

According to the Guinness Book of World Records, in 2021, 56 year old Croation freediver Budimir Šobat broke the standing world record for "Longest time breath held voluntarily (male)" with a time of 24 minutes and 37.36 seconds.