What do the three stars in harry potter books mean?

What do the three stars in harry potter books mean? It's a standard formatting to separate paragraphs that begin or end on new pages. If, for example, a paragraph ends at the bottom of page 52, then the beginning of page 53 will have the stars to show that the next paragraph is separate.

---

Though not confirmed by J.K. Rowling; sirius is the brightest star in the sky and is part of the constellation canis major ( “ the great dog” ). Sirius is sometimes called the dog star, so sirius seems the perfect name for dear the meaning of the stars on harry potter book pages ol’ padfoot.