Did mike tyson break his back?

In 2003 after knocking out Clifford Etienne in the first round, 'Iron Mike' Tyson claimed in a post fight interview that his back was broken. In reality he was just in pain because his spinal cord had shifted and needed to be operated on after years of damage from fighting.