How did the british respond to the boston tea party?

They passed Acts which closed Boston Harbor until the lost tea was paid for. Ended the Massachusetts Constitution and free elections. Moved judicial authority to Britain. Required colonists to quarter British troops. And, extended freedom of worship to French-Canadian Catholics under British rule.