Who invented rohypnol?

Flunitrazepam (aka rohypnol) was discovered at Roche; the patent application was filed in 1962 and it was first marketed in 1974. It was never marketed in the United States, and by 2016 had been withdrawn from the markets in Spain, France, Norway, Germany, and the United Kingdom