What is the lymphatic system in the human body?

The lymphatic system is a network of delicate tubes throughout the body. It drains fluid that has leaked from the blood vessels into the tissues and empties it back into the bloodstream via the lymph nodes. The main roles of the lymphatic system include: managing the fluid levels in the body.