How does hicama grow?

Jicama growing occurs under a climbing legume plant, which has extremely long and large tuberous roots. These tap roots may each 6-8 feet within five months and weigh over 50 pounds with vines reaching lengths of up to 2o feet long. Jicama grows in frost free climates.