Why was the soviet union created?

The Soviet Union traces its origin to the 1917 October Revolution which saw the Bolsheviks, a far-left political party lead by Vladimir Lenin topple the Provisional Government and establish the RSFSR, the world's first constitutionally guaranteed socialist state.