What does m. i. c. r. stand for?

It stands for Magnetic Ink Character Recognition. MICR is the printing at the bottom of a bank check. Originally, the ink used at the bottom of the check was magnetic and read magnetically. Today, it is no longer magnetic ink and it is read optically.