What's bubble gum pop?

Bubblegum pop was a subgenre of pop music and rock 'n' roll that rose to prominence in the late '60s and early '70s. Bubblegum pop songs hinged on upbeat melodies, simple lyrics with sing-along choruses, and danceable rhythms.