Is the movie forrest gump based on a true story?

No, Forrest Gump is a 1994 film based on the 1986 novel of the same name written by Winston Groom. The film stars Tom Hanks as Forrest Gump. The story takes place between 1951 and 1981 as Forrest tells his life story to different strangers who sit beside him on a bus stop bench.