How do you thunderstorms work?

Thunderstorms are caused by warm moist air (heated from Earth's surface) raising up and transferring heat to colder air at higher altitudes, forcing at the same time cold air down. Eventually the moisture, due to the air movement and heat exchange forms heavy clouds, resulting in rain.