When was the first ice cream cone invented?

The most commonly accepted origin story states that the ice cream cone was invented at the 1904 World's Fair (AKA the Louisiana Purchase Exposition. The story states Syrian immigrant Ernest Hamwi was making zalabia, a wafer dessert, next to an ice cream stand & they combined together to get the cone