How much water should you water a cactus?

Always make sure the soil is very dry all the way through between waterings. Another option is to measure the amount of water you use to make sure you're not accidentally drowning your cacti. A 1/4 to 1/2 cup, every week or two, is enough for your cactus to thrive, depending on the season.