Do birds eat dirt?

No, they don’t eat dirt. They do eat the worms that are found in the dirt. So, while it may seem that they are trying to eat the soil, they are not.

---

Birds need a little grit in their crop to help grind up their food, especially is they eat seeds. They look for sand, but may sometimes have to settle for dirt.