What's the difference between a nut and a seed?

Nuts are the hard-shelled “fruit” of certain plants. Conversely, seeds are an edible small plant enclosed in a seed coat. ... Nuts generally are “fruits” that have a hard outer shell that doesn't crack open naturally. Most nuts are seeds, but not all seeds are nuts.