How many animals are in the planet earth?

Mathematician, computer science expert and animal rights advocate Brian Tomasik has estimated the number of individual animals on earth. According to his data, the number adds up to approximately 20,000,121,091,000,000,000. This can be written as 20 quintillion, or 20 billion billion.