What is a morgan silver dollar?

The Morgan dollar was a United States dollar coin designed by George T. Morgan and minted from 1878 to 1904 and again in 1921. The coin was 1.5 inches in diameter, and featured a liberty head on the front and an eagle on the back. It was made of an alloy of 90% silver and 10% copper.