What's the difference between an old-fashioned and a manhattan?

A Manhattan contains Sweet Vermouth as one of its ingredients whereas Old Fashioneds do not. An Old Fashioned is sweetened with plain sugar, or a simple syrup. Otherwise they are similar -- containing Bourbon or whiskey, and Angostura Bitters, and garnished with a cherry or sometimes other fruit.