When did they start putting expiration dates on milk?

Most food producers didn't use dates until the 1970s, according to Natural Resources Defense Council report. It wasn't called a "sell-by-date" until 1973. Legend has it Al Capone made it mandatory to add expiration dates on milk bottles since he controlled all use-by date printing equipment.