How do minerals grow?

Minerals can form in three primary ways being precipitation, crystallization from a magma and solid- state transformation by chemical reactions (metamorphism). Mineral Precipitation is when a mineral is formed by crystallization from a solution. Examples include quartz, halite (table salt).