Is lightning faster than sound?

Yes, light travels faster than sound. Sound moves at 343 metres per second (thats about 770 miles per hour!) Light, however, travels nearly 900,000 times faster!

---

Yes. During a thunderstorm you often see the lightening before the accompanying sound of the thunder.