Why are puppy teeth so sharp?

Sharp puppy teeth are a hold-over from evolution. They are sharp to compensate for their weaker jaws. This way, if their mother brought back meat for them, the puppies could eat it by tearing it up.

---

It makes it easier for them to bite you, my dear! The sharper teeth are for breaking up food into manageable size pieces for their small mouths.