Who is rosie the river?

The Rosie the Riveter image was used to recruit female workers for defense industries during World War II, and she has become perhaps the most iconic image of working women. Norman Rockwell's cover for The Saturday Evening Post, was the first visual image to incorporate the 'Rosie' name.