Why do venus flytraps turn black?

If your growing conditions aren't ideal, your plant's traps may turn black every time they're fed, or even if they haven't been fed at all. Like most carnivorous plants, Venus flytraps need a nutrient-poor soil. Normal potting compost or anything with fertilizer will hurt your plant!