Why did we nuke japan?

1. To show Japan America's might and that they would be wiped out if they didn't surrender; 2. To show the Soviet Union America's might so that they didn't invade Japan and expand their empire; 3. Because they could; 4. To test atomic bombs in the field; 5. To save the lives of American soldiers.