Why is it called pico de gayo?

Pico de gallo translates to "beak of rooster". Some folklore examples for name: People used to pick it with thumb and finger, which resembles a rooster’s pecking beak; Chilies in pico de gallo are hot and bite like a rooster. All ingredients are cut into very small pieces, as if pecked by a rooster.