Why is puerto rico a u. s. territory?

On July 25, 1898, during the Spanish–American War, the U.S. invaded Puerto Rico with a landing at Guánica. After the U.S. victory in the war, Spain ceded Puerto Rico to the U.S. under the Treaty of Paris, which went into effect on April 11, 1899.