What are power ups used for?

Video game power-UPS add temporary benefit or ability to player's character; often collected directly thru touch or by collecting items. Uninterruptible power supply (UPS) provides short term emergency power,USUALLY from batteries,to allow start of standby source or properly shut down e.g. computer.