Is the missouri river bigger than the mississippi river?

Yes. The Missouri River is about 200 miles longer than the Mississippi. ... It stretches 2,341 miles, which is just 20 miles longer than the Mississippi. Even though it is longer by just a little bit, the Missouri is considered the tributary to the Mississippi.