What's the difference between vinyl and linoleum?

On vinyl floors, the pattern is just on the surface. Any holes or damage will interrupt the pattern and therefore be easily visible. A pattern on a linoleum floor is carried all the way through the material and will still be visible even through holes or other wear and tear on the floor.