What is the atlas?

In Geography, an atlas is a collection of maps; it is typically a bundle of maps of Earth or a region of Earth. In Greek mithology, Atlas was a titan condemned to hold up the celestial heavens for eternity after the Titanomachy and also plays a role in the myths of two heroes: Heracles and Perseus.