Who started first world war 1?

The immediate cause was the assassination of Franz Ferdinand, archduke of Austria-Hungary. His death at the hands of Gavrilo Princip – a Serbian nationalist with ties to the secretive military group known as the Black Hand – propelled the major European military powers towards war