Why do we have towels?

The invention of the towel is commonly associated with the city of Bursa, Turkey, in the 17th century. These towels began as a flat, woven piece of cotton or linen called a pestamel, often hand-embroidered. They were used in Turkish baths as they stayed light when wet and were very absorbent.