Why is it called the funny bone?

Your funny bone isn't actually a bone at all. Running down the inside part of your elbow is a nerve called the ulnar nerve. The ulnar nerve lets your brain know about feelings in your fourth and fifth fingers. When you hit the nerve in your elbow it tends to feel funny. Hence, "funny bone".