What is the red seal for instant pot?

The purpose of the red sealing ring for the Instant Pot is to distinguish it as being used for savory or sweet dishes. The silicone ring tends to pick up flavors from the dish being cooked and impart them to other foods, so it's helpful to keep the sweet and savory sealing rings separate.