How are grammy winners selected?

Entries for Grammy Awards are submitted by record companies, as well as members of The Recording Academy, and are reviewed to determine eligibility and category placement. The voting members of the academy, through a series of ballots, select 5 nominees for each award, and ultimately the winner.