What's the function of the appendix?

Medical science offers multiple opinions as to what the function of the human appendix is. Some say it may act as a storehouse for good bacteria, “rebooting” the digestive system after diarrheal illnesses. Other experts believe the appendix is just a useless remnant from our evolutionary past.