Why do cats love milk?

Actually, adult cats should not drink milk. Kittens have an enzyme in their stomachs that allows them to break down lactose, but adults cats don't. Instead, the lactose in the milk may cause an upset stomach when it begins to ferment. Kittens can drink milk, but it's rarely necessary.