When was the song living on a prayer made?

"Livin' On a Prayer." The 1986 rock anthem — a No. 1 hit that went on to become the band's signature song — tells the tale of Tommy and Gina, a working class couple who struggle to make ends meet and vow to "hold on to what we've got."