Are zombie ants real?

Yes. The parasitic fungus Cordyceps infects carpenter ants when they come in contact with its spores. Within a week the ant enters a "zombie-like" state, where it dies in an exposed position clinging onto the bottom surface of shrub leaves. The fungus then grows out of its head, releasing spores.