What is the definition of cross contamination?

Cross contamination occurs when a contaminated products accidently contacts a non contaminated product. Reasons for that contact are widely varied such as winds, water, rodents, use of same containers or surfaces without sterilization. If you handle raw chicken then handle salad the salad may be bad