When was mercedes invented?

Mercedes-Benz was founded June 28, 1926 however Emil Jellinek at the Nice race in 1899 drove under the pseudonym "Monsieur Mercédès". Many consider that race the birth for Mercedes-Benz as a brand. Later, in 1901, the name "Mercedes" was re-registered by DMG worldwide as a protected trademark.