What's the structure of a haiku?

A Haiku is composed of only 3 lines. The first line has 5 syllables, the second line has 7 syllables, and the third line has 5 syllables, totaling 17 syllables. A limerick has 5 lines.

---

A haiku format is three lines total, five syllables in the first and third lines, and seven syllables in the second line. Japanese people informally call 5-7-5.