What makes salt kosher?

Any salt can be kosher if it’s produced under kosher Jewish dietary guidelines, but that's not the reason Kosher salt got its name. In fact, something labeled “kosher salt” can actually not be kosher. Kosher salt’s original purpose was really to kosher meat, meaning to remove the blood from meat.

---

The main difference between regular salt and kosher salt is the structure of the flakes. Chefs find that kosher salt is easier to pick up with your fingers and spread over food. ... However, kosher salt is less likely to contain additives like anti-caking agents and iodine.

---

Kosher salt earned its name from it's original purpose to kosher meat meaning to bleed out the blood from an animal for butchering. It has nothing to do with kosher dietary guidelines