What is the difference between a police officer and a sheriff?

In the United States a sheriff is the head law enforcement officer in a county, and their jurisdiction usually includes all of the unincorporated area of the county. A police officer is also a law enforcement officer, but their jurisdiction is typically restricted to the boarders of a city or town.